Good at Saving? Teach me!

As its January and the fabulous 5 weeks until payday month, where most of us are surviving on left over quality street and frozen party sausage rolls, I thought it would be a great opportunity to talk about MONEY- or lack of in our case.

I’ll be honest, I am crap with money- you know those people who just have it together, save and always grab a bargain- yep not me! or Adam unluckily. We are both as bad as each other when it comes to saving. Perhaps if one of us was half decent at it we could at least carry the other one along on the money train, but alas we are two peas in a broke pod.

I’m not going to go into detail as I would bore everyone to death. Adam is fortunate enough to have a good sales job (he does alright.) I work part- time for the NHS and bring very little to the table (apart from my olive skin and funny personality 😆) We pay a fair bit in childcare even though Freddie goes a whole 8 hours a week and we basically don’t have a lot left at the end of the month. Our money is put in one big pot, whats mine is Adams and vice versa, even though we aren’t married its what works for us. Broken down our money goes on mundane day to day bills – Rent, Car, Water, Gas, Electric (I know all the great things.) Food seems to be our biggest issue. Sainsbury’s has kindly opened an extortionate local store opposite my front door and its a daily struggle not to spend £10 in there on milk and what ever else happens to jump in my basket.

Yes I’ve done the whole ‘food shop once a week’ but by Tuesday were already out of milk (*cough* CHOCOLATE) and the local store is calling me. I want to be in a better position going forward, to be able to plan a nice holiday or god forbid our wedding without the dreaded question- but where would we get the money for that from?

Its going to be a slow process, money doesn’t grow on trees (although that would be pretty cool right?) Maybe I will finally win an ITV This Morning competition like ‘Real life Carole from Derby who won £200,000 and a mini cooper.’ Oh fantastic Carole, do you fancy sending some my way?

This isn’t me moaning, I have to express Adam works EXTREMELY hard for his money and the children never go without. We have a lovely rented house and definitely don’t starve. I just want to get better at SAVING so we can look forward to something when we do have some spare cash.

So before I go bankrupt and blame Sainsbury’s- how do you fabulous savers do it? Where do you get your inspiration from? I am looking for recommendations/ books/ Instagram accounts or blogs with good tips on saving or if you personally have any yourselves.

I’ve tried shopping in Aldi but why don’t they stock everything I want? Going to one supermarket with 2 children is fun enough without having to drag everyone to Tesco for Sudocream.

I have thought of a few things myself- we’ve joined the National Trust and The Zoo for fun family days out- all we need now is to nip to Sainsbury’s for our picnic stuff and we’ll be sorted 😆

Let me know your ideas- maybe then I may get the Centre Parcs holiday I’ve been dreaming of. Oh and be proud of me, I said no to a dominoes takeaway tonight and had a crumpet instead.

I’ll be rich before I know it ❤️

Love Karis

x

thumbnail_FullSizeRender

2 thoughts on “Good at Saving? Teach me!

  1. Oh you make me laugh 😂 set up a direct debit to a seperate savings account. Give the card to your mum so you can’t access the money.
    Or like Laura said the £2 pot. Get one that you have to smash open and just put all your change in ther whenever you have any. I mean I’m not the best at saving myself, but I have had to save quite a lot in the past couple of years! Xx

    Like

Leave a comment